ISO 20000-1 Frequently Asked Questions and Answers

What is ISO 20000?

ISO/IEC 20000 is the first international standard for IT service management. It was developed in 2005, by ISO/IEC JTC1/SC7 and revised in 2011. It is based on and intended to supersede the earlier BS 15000 that was developed by BSI Group.

ISO/IEC 20000, like its BS 15000 predecessor, was originally developed to reflect best practice guidance contained within the ITIL (Information Technology Infrastructure Library) framework (reference needed), although it equally supports other IT service management frameworks and approaches including Microsoft Operations Framework and components of ISACA’s COBIT framework. The differentiation between ISO/IEC 20000 and BS 15000 has been addressed by Jenny Dugmore.

The standard was first published in December 2005. In June 2011, the ISO/IEC 20000-1:2005 was updated to ISO/IEC 20000-1:2011. In February 2012, ISO/IEC 20000-2:2005 was updated to ISO/IEC 20000-2:2012.

What are ISO 20000 Standards?

ISO 20000 consists of multiple standards that are a series of documents that comprise guidance on how to implement a service management system, typically applied to IT services. The ISO 20000 series is comprised of the following most commonly used standards:

  • ISO 20000-1:2011– Provides requirements for the management and delivery of services (typically associated with information technology) and works in harmony with Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) practices and aligns with ISO 9001 requirements.
  • ISO 20000-1 provides guidance on the requirements of a service management system to organizations preparing for ISO 20000 certification.
  • ISO 20000-2:2012 – Commonly referred to as a Code of Practice for service management systems. ISO 2000002 provides guidance on the application of service managements systems based on the requirements of ISO 20000-1:2011.
  • ISO 20000-2 provides information to organizations and individuals on how to interpret the requirements of ISO 20000-1 along with suggestions on how to meet ISO 20000 requirements for ISO 20000 certification or ISO 20000 registration.
  • ISO 20000-3:2009 – Provides guidance on scoping a service management system. ISO 20000-3 helps organizations understand if ISO 20000-1 is applicable to their circumstances and how to define the scope of their service management system.

How ISO 20000 relates to ITIL?

ITIL (Information Technology Infrastructure Library) is a set of descriptive best practices for IT services. ITIL is a certification, which can be received by an individual. An ISO 20000-1:2011 Standard is a set of auditable requirements that an organization must implement and demonstrate to receive certification. Both ITIL and ISO 20000-1:2011 focus on the management of a Service Management System (SMS). ITIL outlines best practices for a service lifecycle, which can be performed by an individual and provided to the environment (SMS) that demonstrates the requirements of ISO 20000-1:2011.

Why get ISO 20000 Certification?

An ISO 20000-1:2011 certification provides numerous benefits to an organization:

  • Alignment of services and capabilities
  • Integrated Service Management System and management functions
  • Organizational focus on key processes of the Service Management System and strategic approach
  • Distinguishing qualifier within the marketplace

Is ISO 20000-1 just for IT organizations?

Historically ISO 20000-1 has been used for IT services but there is an upward trend in using the guidelines in other services to get a better understanding of customer needs and improving business processes. By aligning ISO 20000-1:2018 to the shared ISO high level structure (Annex SL), the standard puts a greater focus on managing quality services with leadership and risk management on the forefront. This gives ISO 20000-1 a higher appeal to other service organizations.

What is the transition period from ISO/IEC 200003-1:2011 to ISO/IEC 20000-1:2018?

The 3 year transition period for ISO/IEC 20000-1:2018 started September 28th 2018.

Does my organization have to go through a full audit in order to transition from ISO/IEC 200003-1:2011 to ISO/IEC 20000-1:2018?

Organizations with current accredited certifications against ISO/IEC 200003-1:2011 will need to coordinate a transition audit with their registrar prior to September 29th 2021 to avoid a full system audit.

Do you have more questions about ISO 20000-1?

We will contact you the moment we receive your information to discuss abut ISO 20000-1 and we will reply to any questions you may have.