ISO 9001 FAQ

ISO 9001 Frequently Asked Questions and Answers

An ISO certification means that an organization has met the requirements of an ISO standard (ex. 9001:2015), and has been verified (independently) by a certifying body (Registrar). A typical ISO certification is valid for 3 years, while the organization go through the process of recertification. These are the most common ISO 9001 FAQ.

Why get an ISO 9001 Certification?

Unquestionably, multiple studies have shown that companies that have employed the services of an ISO 9001 Consultant, developed a Quality Management System (QMS), and have an ISO Certification tend to outperform similar organizations, which have not implemented an ISO 9001 based quality management system. Key performance differentiators are:

  • Reduced error rates in the delivery of goods or services,
  • Improved return on business assets,
  • Improved customer satisfaction, and
  • Increased marketability

How to become ISO 9001 Certified?

An organization can become ISO 9001:2015 certified by successfully completing the certification process as mentioned above. Preparation for the certification requires the establishment of a Quality Management System, which meets the requirements of the ISO 9001:2015 Standard.

What is ISO audit?

An audit is an official inspection of an individual, group, and/or organization. An ISO audit, for instance an audit against the requirements of the ISO 9001:2015, is a review/inspection of an organization’s procedural and management practices, within that organization’s Quality Management System.

Differences between ISO 9000 and ISO 9001?

The ISO 9000 Standards series is one the most common Quality Management Certifications within industry, ranging from manufacturing to Federal contracting.

The family of ISO 9000 standards is a series of guidance material specifically that focuses on assisting organizations on the implementation and certification of a general QMS. The ISO 9000 Standards series includes the following guidance:

  • Fundamentals and Vocabulary ISO 9000 QMS: Overview of basic quality terminology and vocabulary, as well as the explanation of strategic principles for the development and implementation of quality management systems
  • Requirements ISO 9001 QMS: Specific requirements for use by an organization in the implementation and operation a quality management system to meet customer and regulatory requirements
  • Guidelines for Performance Improvements ISO 9004 Quality Management Systems: Additional guidance on quality management systems, beyond the ISO 9001 requirements; focus on the continual improvement of performance of an organization.

What is ISO quality?

The definition of quality is the measurement of standards and excellence of some defined item; whether it be a product, service, or some distinctive attribute. The measurement of standard is typically comprised of pre-defined requirements. The ISO Standards (ex. ISO 9001:2015) are the defined quality requirements upon which an organization can be measured.

Contact us if you have more questions about ISO 9001:2015?

We will contact you the moment we receive your information to discuss abut ISO 9001:2015 and reply to any questions you may have.