CMMI SCAMPI: Standard CMMI Appraisal Method for Process Improvement

Based on the level of implementation, an organization will seek an appraisal to assess their level of maturity. A Standard CMMI Appraisal Method for Process Improvement (CMMI SCAMPI) A verifies compliance of presented artifacts/evidence for each relevant practice, resulting in a rating.

The SCAMPI A Appraisal may be Staged or Continuous. A Maturity Level is granted following a Staged appraisal and a Capability Level is granted following a Continuous appraisal.

Benefits of a CMMI SCAMPI Appraisal

The CMMI frameworks provide guidance to help organizations:

  • Decrease costs,
  • Improve on-time delivery, productivity, quality, customer satisfaction, and
  • Realize an organization’s return on investment.

In its research to help organizations improve the quality of their work, Software Engineering Institute (SEI) established three core areas of importance: people, procedures and methods, and tools and equipment. It is the belief that processes are what hold these elements together. Since its inception in 1995, CMMI has focused on the importance of process effectiveness and efficiency and the support it provides people and technology.

Each CMMI constellation is built on a framework of process areas that are interrelated processes that should be addressed to instill best practices and improve performance. Each process area is composed of a collection of practices that, when applied together, fulfil various goals within the process.

All CMMI models contain 16 core processes that contain key similarities in each framework, but also may be modified to fit a specific area of interest. Each Process Areas consists of specific goals and specific practices, which are unique to an individual process area. A process area is considered satisfied when both the specific goals and generic goals are successfully implemented.

Need more information about CMMI?

Please fill in the form below and we will contact you the moment we receive your information.