CMMI Frequently Asked Questions and Answers

What is CMMI-DEV

CMMI for Development (CMMI-DEV) is a constellation of CMMI processes which address Software Development. Capability Maturity Model Integration (CMMI) is a process level improvement training and appraisal program. Administered by the CMMI Institute, a subsidiary of ISACA, it was developed at Carnegie Mellon University (CMU). It is required by many United States Department of Defense (DoD) and U.S. Government contracts, especially in software development. CMU claims CMMI can be used to guide process improvement across a project, division, or an entire organization. The CMMI model institutionalizes the following definitions for maturity levels:

  • Initial (Level 1),
  • Managed (Level 2),
  • Defined (Level 3),
  • Quantitatively Managed (Level 4), and
  • Optimizing (Level 5).

The current published Model version (Version 2.0) was released in March of 2018. Version 1.3, published in 2010, is scheduled to sunset in September 30, 2020. CMMI is registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office by CMU.

What is CMMI-SVC

CMMI for Services (CMMI-SVC) is a constellation of CMMI processes which address Services Provision and is a collection of best practices with attention to service delivery and management. CMMI Services is an integrated and comprehensive methodology that focuses on improvement within an organization and its capability to efficiently and effectively deliver quality service offerings that meet market and customer needs. The CMMI for Services model is designed to support organizational initiatives to streamline process improvement and drive productivity. The CMMI model institutionalizes the following definitions for maturity levels:

  • Initial (Level 1),
  • Managed (Level 2),
  • Defined (Level 3),
  • Quantitatively Managed (Level 4), and
  • Optimizing (Level 5).

Administered by the CMMI Institute, a subsidiary of ISACA, it was developed at Carnegie Mellon University (CMU). CMMI for Services Version 2.0 was released in December of 2018. CMMI for Services – Version 1.3 is scheduled to sunset in September 30, 2020.

Why use a CMMI Model?

The CMMI Model provides an organization with a set of process requirements that can help streamline process operation and improvement initiatives. The CMMI Models are focused on supporting an organization’s operational capabilities to decrease risk, improve product and service practices and development, and standardize and streamline process workflow.

What improvements to expect?

  • Organizations can expect to see marked improvement in:
  • Consistency
  • Process Improvement
  • Cost Saving and reduction in rework
  • Distinguishing qualifier within the market place

What is SCAMPI?

SCAMPI (Standard CMMI Appraisal Method for Process Improvement), is an appraisal process that is used to determine and organization’s maturity level (1 through 5). The SCAMPI Appraisal process is performed by a certified Lead SCAMPI Appraisal and the appraisal method is administered and managed by the CMMI Institute.

Difference between CMM and CMMI?

CMM measures the maturity level of an organization by determining if an organization completes the specific activities listed in the Key Performance Areas (KPA), oblivious to whether the completion of such activity leads to the desired result. Developed by the Software Engineering Institute at Carnegie Mellon in the early 1990s, CMM focused on several discipline areas such as Software CMM, People CMM, etc.

CMMI (released in 2002) was the successor of the CMM model with more mature and defined set of guidelines and a combination of the components of the individual CMM models. CMMI is also an activity-based approach but the major difference is that CMMI takes a more result-oriented approach when defining and measuring Key Performance Areas.

When does my organization need to transition to CMMI V2 DEV?

The last day an appraisal can be conducted using CMMI v1.3 is September 30, 2020.

Does everyone in an organization need formal CMMI Development training?

The short answer is, no. The only required personnel that need formal training are those that plan to participate as an Appraisal Team Member (ATM).

Is there required training or a special certificate for becoming an internal company CMMI auditor?

There is formal training requirements to become a CMMI Lead Appraiser but no formal training requirements as an ‘internal company auditor’.

For CMMI 2.0 is less documentation required?

An organization can adopt the practices of the CMMI 2.0 Model without developing or generating undue process documentation.  Consider what you are looking to achieve when deciding if a process and the resulting work products should be documented.   What directive, organizational knowledge or information is to be imparted? What behavior is trying to be changed? What will be the best mode for communicating the information, i.e. face-to-face meeting, email, paper document, video conference, or website? What value is there in documenting that an activity occurred? Has management asked that managers and teams be accountable and adhere to organizational objectives and improve performance?

Should your organization’s goal be to achieve a maturity level rating, objective evidence must be available during an appraisal for review and evaluation. Objective evidence consists of both artifacts and affirmations and must be provided for all practice areas for the organization and each project or group in-scope for the appraisal.

Are any of the process areas unchanged from CMMI V1.3 to V2.0?

The practice areas (formerly process areas) that have largely remained the same from V1.3 to V2.0 include:

  • Verification and Validation
  • Organizational Training
  • Incident Resolution and Prevention

The following practice areas have minor additions from V1.3 to 2.0:

  • Configuration Management
    • CM 1.1: Perform version control
  • Supplier Agreement Management
    • SAM 3.1: Select technical supplier deliverables for analysis and conduct technical reviews.
  • Process Quality Assurance
    • PQA 3.1: Identify and record opportunities for improvement during quality assurance activities
  • Decision Analysis
    • DAR 3.1: Develop, keep updated, and use a description of role-based decision authority
  • Continuity
    • CON 1.1: Develop contingency approaches for managing significant disruptions to operations.
  • Product Integration
    • PI 1.1: Assemble solutions and deliver to the customer.
  • Requirements Development and Management
    • RDM 1.1: Record requirements.
  • Service Delivery Management  
    • SDM 1.1: Use the service system to deliver services.
  • Strategic Service Management
    • STSM 1.1: Develop a list of current services.

Need more information about CMMI?

Please fill in the form below and we will contact you the moment we receive your information.